As the temperature drops and we count down the days to buy Christmas gifts, the automotive industry is into its annual seasonal smattering of automotive awards and festive events.

Kicking off the winter awards season was the Guild of Motoring Writers (GOMW) Awards, which we as an agency have been supporting for many years. The annual event, which took place at the Royal Automobile Club, Pall Mall, London on Thursday 30th November, once again saw Torque Agency Group sponsor the pre-awards drinks.

With the backing of major automotive manufacturers, charities, organisations and PR teams each sponsoring an award, over 270 submissions were sent for the 15 categories, with just 39 media professionals in the running on the night for a Guild Award.

The GOMW Awards 2017 finalists

The 2017 winners are shown below, all other shortlisted entrants were ‘Highly Commended’.

AA Campaigning Journalist of the Year

Jack Carfrae
**Ray Massey**
Maria McCarthy

Audi Photographer of the Year – General

**Nick Dimbleby**
Luc Lacey
James Lipman

Audi Photographer of the Year – Motorsport

Jeff Bloxham
**Jakob Ebrey**
John Mountney

British Car Auctions Feature Writer of the Year

Jack Carfrae
Dale Drinnon
**James Taylor**

DS Automobiles Editor of the Year

**Paul Barker**
Maggie Barry
Hilton Holloway

GKN Driveline Consumer Journalist of the Year

George Barrow
**John Evans**
Ray Massey

IAM RoadSmart Safety Award

Chris Knapman
**Gustavo Ruffo**
Dan Trent

Market Engineering Award for Automotive Technology Journalism

**Lem Bingley**
Graham Heeps
Chris Pickering

Mercedes-Benz Award for the Montagu of Beaulieu Trophy

**Anders Ditlev Clausager**
Tony Lewin
John Nikas 

Newspress Young Writer of the Year

**Jack Benyon**
Jack Phillips
Sophie Williamson-Stothert

Peugeot Motorsport Cup

**Andrew Charman**
James Taylor
Nick Trott

Prova PR Business Writer of the Year

**Simon Duval-Smith**
David Leggett
Ray Massey

Renault UK / The Guild of Motoring Writers Journalist of the Year

Paul Barker
Ray Massey
**James Ruppert**

RM Sothebys Classic Writer of the Year

**David Burgess-Wise**
Sam Dawson
Malcolm Thorne

TMD Friction Ltd The Textar Mintex Don Commercial Vehicle Writer of the Year Award

**Louise Cole**
James Gordon
Brian Weatherley

Also announced by the Guild of Motoring Writers on the night:

Guild Driver of the Year – George Russell
Guild Rider of the Year – Sam Sunderland
President’s Trophy – Sir Frank Williams
Special Contribution Award sponsored by Kia – Warwick Manufacturing Group
Phil Llewellin Student Journalist of the Year sponsored by CAR – Illya Verpraet
Pemberton Trophy – Matthew Carter
Motoring Research Breakthrough Award – Alan Bradley and Andrew Clews [Tom Roberts was Highly Commended]

Pictures by Jakob Ebrey